This is the original DMFPD website but it is no longer the official website.

Home | About | Mission | History | Vision  
Calendars | Minutes | Documents | Contact



The Deer Mountain Fire Protection District was formed in November 1985 after the Deer Mountain Volunteer Fire Department (which was formed in 1984) saw a need for expansion and tax dollars to run the Fire Department. A Special Election was held on Nov. 19, 1985 in a motor home at the small Country Store. Eighty-two residents voted that day with 68 for and 14 against.  
At that time the first board members were elected. They were, Ed Huffman, John Mueller, John Kauffman, Arleen Weber, and Tom Waldron. After the Oath of Office, Ed Huffman was voted in as Chairman.  
The first year was hard work and the beginning of many volunteer hours to come. In September 1986 John Kauffman petitioned the Mineral Impact Board for a grant of $30,000 to enlarge the small one bay station, purchase two trucks and equipment as well as install utilities. The grant was awarded.  
Deer Mountain Volunteer Fire Department has maintained a volunteer station for over 25 years and has had as few as 7 Firefighters. Today Station-1 has 21 Firefighter, 7 Medical First Responders and 8 support drivers. The Station operates 8 vehicles ranging from Brush Truck to Attack Tenders.  
Station-1 also has a very important support group, Red Suspenders. Community members active in Red Suspenders hold fundrisers for the Fire Station.  
In February 1988, the town of Coaldale, about 26 miles North West of Station-1, joined the Deer Mountain Fire Protection District. While Coaldale was in the District they served the western end of Fremont County with 12 to 16 Firefighters. In May of 2008 Coaldale left the DMFPD and started the Western Fremont Fire Protection District.  
In December of 1989 the town of Cotopaxi petitioned the DMFPD Board to join the District and was accepted in January 1990. The town of Cotopaxi has approximately 500 resident and about 12 miles of US Highway 50 and the Arkansas River. This station is also responsible for fighting fires at the Cotopaxi School, grades K-12. The Fire Station today has 7 volunteers and 4 vehicles. The small rural Community was growing and the District was now in full swing. In 1989 another grant was used to build the Fire Station in Cotopaxi.  
Over the next few years the District had very little change. Late in 1998 they received a Colorado Lottery Grant and added a Community/Training Hall at Station-1.  
On June 2, 2002 the District experienced a very large Iron Mountain Fire. Approximately 4,400 woodland acres and 100 homes and out-buildings were destroyed. Fortunately there was no loss of human life. After the fire, a review of procedure brought the District to start training in Urban Interface and the use of National Wildfire Coordinating Group (NWCG) qualifications.  
The next large fire was above the town of Coaldale on BLM land. The fire started in September 2007 by lightning and burned around 340 acres. BLM officers used the fire as a mitigation project.  
In May of 2008, the Ferguson Fire began exhibited the same weather patterns and fire conditions as the Iron Mountain Fire but only destroyed around 380 acres. This was due in part to better equipment and a higher level of training. Both the Iron Mountain and the Ferguson Fires were in Station-1's boundaries.




Website by Elaine Foster
Copyright (c) - All rights reserved.